Cisco Entry-Level and CCNA 200-125 Associate-Level Certifications

By  | 


The Cisco certifications are considered the most important and highly-valued credentials in the IT industry. As the world is evolving, the company is also making program changes. Thus, on February 24, 2020, Cisco will release a new certification and training program. And you may take the opportunity and get the credential you want before this date, or you can take a crack at obtaining it after the release.

Anyway, first of all, we want to lead you through the levels of the certificates that the company has so you can have an idea of which way to choose. Currently, there are five levels:

  • Entry (CCENT and CCT)
  • Associate (CCDA and CCNA 200-125)
  • Professional (CCDP and CCNP)
  • Expert (CCDE and CCIE)
  • Architect (CCAr)

In this article, we will focus mainly on the entry- and associate-level certifications web. There are several Cisco credentials that are under this level. Without much ado, let us overview all of them.

Entry-Level Certifications

As you noticed, there are such certifications that act as entry points for those individuals who want to start a great career in networking. If you are interested in joining the field of networking, then you should start pursuing these certificates.

  1. CCENT

Cisco Certified Entry Networking Technician (CCENT) represents the entry-level of the Cisco certification pathway and covers primary networking knowledge. If you are a CCENT certified individual, it means that you can install, operate, and troubleshoot basic network security and other small enterprise networks.100-105 ICND1, also known as Interconnecting Cisco Networking Devices Part 1, is the exam that you must clear in order to obtain this entry-level credential. It requires 90 minutes of your time to pass 45-55 questions. The CCENT certificate is valid for 3 years.

  1. CCT

As for the Cisco Certified Technician (CCT) holders, they can diagnose, replace, restore, and repair critical Cisco networking and Cisco devices at customer sites. These individuals work in collaboration with the Cisco Technical Assistance Center (TAC) when resolving support incidents.

Associate-Level Certifications

  1. CCNA 200-125 Routing and Switching

CCNA 200-125 R&S is most closely related to the original CCNA 200-125 focus. To earn this certification, one must take 200-125 CCNA 200-125 or 100-105 ICND1 with 200-105 ICND2. In the first option, you should pass 60-70 questions within 90 minutes, and the other two exams have 45-55 and 55-65 questions that should be completed within 180 minutes in total. Earning this Cisco credential proves that you have the knowledge and skills in installing and operating a medium-sized and small-sized enterprise branch network. Just like the rest of the associate-level certificates, CCNA 200-125 R&S is valid for three years.

  1. CCNA 200-125 Wireless

The CCNA 200-125 Wireless certified individuals (WLAN project managers, wireless support specialists, and networking administrators) have the skills required to configure, implement, and support wireless LANs.The relevant exam for this certificate is 200-355 WIFUND (Implementing Cisco Wireless Networking Essentials). The test consists of 60-70 questions and you will have 90 minutes to answer all of them.

  1. CCNA 200-125 Service Provider

CCNA 200-125 Service Provider confirms the skills to configure and effectively implement the baseline Cisco Service Provider Next-Generation networks. To attain this certification, you need to clear two exams: 640-875SPNGN1 and 640-878 SPNGNG2. For both tests, you will need 90 minutes of your time to complete 130-150 questions in total.

  1. CCNA 200-125 Security

CCNA 200-125 Security confirms one’s knowledge of security vulnerability, threats, and threat mitigation. It validates skills and knowledge to install, monitor, and troubleshoot network devices, as well as maintain availability, confidentiality, and data and device integrity. You need to clear the 210-260 test and have a valid CCNA 200-125 certification for you to be CCNA 200-125 Security certified. The exam has 60-70 questions and you will have 90 minutes. This credential is a prerequisite to Cisco CCNP Security.

  1. CCNA 200-125 Industrial

CCNA 200-125 Industrial is intended for traditional network engineers, plant administrators, and control system engineers. In other words, it is ideal for specialists who work in the gas and oil industries, manufacturing, etc. They are mainly tasked with the industrial and IT network convergence.

  1. CCNA 200-125 CyberOps

CCNA 200-125 CyberOps is designed to prepare the candidates to start a career in networking with the cybersecurity analysts within the centers of security operations. The only requirement is to pass two exams: 210-250 SECFND and 210-255 SECOPS. The first test includes 55-65 questions and the second one – 60-70. For each of them, you will have 90 minutes.

  1. CCNA 200-125 Collaboration

CCNA 200-125 Collaboration is intended for those engineers who mainly specialize in the Unified Communication (UC) products of Cisco. The collaboration engineers focus on the live text, voice deployment and support, and video solutions across the IP networks. There are no prerequisites for this credential but you need to successfully pass two exams: 210-060 CICD and 210-065 CIVND. In total, you will have to deal with 110-130 questions and a time limit of 150 minutes.

  1. CCNA 200-125 Cloud

CCNA 200-125 Cloud certifies one’s knowledge of new and more valuable connections that are made every day in this era of the Internet. Earning this Cisco certification will validate your skills in performing entry-level provisioning and Cisco Cloud solutions supporting. The requirement for the credential is to pass 210-451 CLDFND and 210-455 CLDADM. There are 110-130 questions in total and you need to complete them within 3 hours.

  1. CCNA 200-125 Data Center

CCNA 200-125 Data Center will provide you with the knowledge of installing and maintaining data center technology. There are two exams that you have to clear: 200-150 DCICN and 200-155 DCICT. For the first test, you will have 90 minutes to complete 55-65 questions and for the second exam, you will get 120 minutes and 65-75 questions.

  1. CCDA

A CCDA certified engineer has the skills to design routed or switched networks of broadband, WANS, and LANS services. As a prerequisite, you need to have a valid CCENT, CCNA 200-125 R&S, or any CCIE credential. 200-310 DESGN is the only exam that you should pass in order to earn this certification. It comes with 55-65 questions that you have to complete within 75 minutes.


As you see, there is a whole list of certifications you can get to start your career in IT. Look carefully through this article and choose the one you desire. Or you even may have a couple of them, it’s up to you. The last piece of advice we can give you is to use the Prepaway materials for your exam preparation. It is one of the best ways to prepare for any of the tests mentioned above. Prepaway also offers video courses at a very affordable cost. You can also get verified and updated study materials such as exam dumps. Therefore, don’t delay obtaining a renowned certification for later.


You must be logged in to post a comment Login